Home » Post A Week 2012 » TRAVEL THEME: FLOWERS

TRAVEL THEME: FLOWERS

Yesterday Jeff and I went to Wegman’s.  This is a supermarket to top all supermarkets.  If you have to go food shopping, and who doesn’t, this is the place to go.  I’m happy to say my son just landed a job there, and I’m pretty impressed because it’s not an easy place to even get an interview.

Any who, while we were there we tasted some blue cheese with balsamic glaze that sported a giant bing cherry off to the side of the little cup they give you for taste-testing purposes.  OMG already!  It was to die for.  The blue cheese tasted like some kind of fancy cream cheese and the glaze, well, forgetaboutit!  It was just amazing. When we walked behind the plethora of dairy delights, I noticed the beautiful flower arrangements that created a backdrop to my little piece of cheese-heaven.  There were three woman working, feverishly, in a jungle of floral reds, yellows, and greens , creating all sorts of fancy bouquets and table dressings and I thought, “How lucky is this?!”  This week’s challenge, presented by Ailsa from wheresmybackpack is all about flowers!

I figured, hey!  Why can’t supermarket flowers get a little recognition, so I grabbed my phone out of my pocket, asked Jeff to hang tight, and off I went, clicking and smelling and smiling.  Here’s some of what they were building back there.  Great stuff, ladies!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As much as I enjoyed looking all that  fabulous flora , this was my favorite.  A Rainbow of Roses!

Blue cheese and balsamic glaze, bing cherries aside, it was a very fruitful trip to the supermarket.

And, because I was on a roll, these are in our side yard at home.

Click on this link to enjoy more fancy flowers, exotic and otherwise, and thanks to Ailsa for posting the challenge.

29 thoughts on “TRAVEL THEME: FLOWERS

    • AD, I couldn’t begin to tell you how scrumptious that cheese and glaze were. And, yup. I believe that rainbow of roses was a dye job. 🙂 Not that I’m opposed to that! 😉

      • Lisaman, thanks for dropping by. I thought they were pretty cool. I wondered if the dye hurt them, then I thought – duh – cutting them and letting them, ah, expire is not so good either. I guess it’s one of those enjoy-them-while-you-can moments. At least they’ve been ‘captured’ 🙂

  1. Wow! I love the rainbow of roses, because who doesn’t love a rainbow. And roses. But let’s face it – nothing compares to the black eyed susans by your house! They’re ridiculous!

  2. Great post & photos – and a little nostalgia as well, for me! Since leaving upstate NY for New England, we have really missed Wegmans! I always try to get there when we visit our family in Rochester, Buffalo, and Eastern PA!
    Thanks for letting us know it’s still the best! 😉

  3. Is that what those are? Blackeyed Susans? Because we actually have some, and they live and thrive even in the company of someone with black thumbs.
    Like all your photos —

  4. Pingback: FLOWERS EVERYWHERE – PANAGBENGA 2010 | indiGo

    • Yes. They seem to be one of the favorites. Welcome to to the world of blogging. Glad you had a good time in FL. 🙂

Feel free to express your (kind) thoughts.

