WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE – GROWTH

There was no doubt in my mind that my fabulous fig tree would be the subject for this week’s topic – growth.  I just wish I had a picture of her when she was a” baby”.  She stood all of about 15 inches tall, and I didn’t have high hopes for her surviving my ineptness when it comes to things that grow.

I remember, as a child, my parents’ land lady had a beautiful fig tree in her yard, which I also considered our yard, by association.  I had never had a fresh fig.  Didn’t even know if the taste would please me, but she looked so pretty and purple. The day came when I mustered up the courage.  I knew I just had to have one, so I  ripped  her from the branch and ran.  I hid behind our house and nibbled, carefully, delighting in every tiny bite. I did this on a daily basis, until one day, as you might venture to guess,  I was discovered.  After all, I was eating them faster than they could grow.  (can you say bare tree?)  My sweet, soft-spoken mom was mortified and scolded me, vehemently, for picking figs off the tree without asking.  I knew I had done wrong, but,  I also  knew that I loved that heavenly, deep purple fruit and I was addicted!

The pilfering stopped, but the love of figs did not.

That tree was gigantic in my little eyes, and I couldn’t even imagine my black thumb growing anything so big and hearty.  But, I knew I had to give it a try. For old times sake.  Little did I know…

KADOTA FIGS

Believe it or not, the fruits of my labor!

To see more ‘growth’, click here.