Home » Timeout for Art » TIME OUT FOR ART – BE YOURSELF

TIME OUT FOR ART – BE YOURSELF

It’s been over a year since I’ve posted in this category but it’s not because I haven’t been playing with art.  CEE’S flowers made me think that I might want to post a flower of my own.  Lisa’s art made me think I might want to again start posting some of my own.

I’ve only just begun (to quote Karen Carpenter) to experiment with drawing in the form of Zentangles and doodling.  Zentangle is a more specific type of art and has its own “tangles” that you can vary at your own discretion.  Doodling, is, well, doodling.  The thing I like about Zentangle is that there are no mistakes.  What one might call a mistake in drawing, Zentangle creators, Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas, would consider “detours” (that’s my word, but I’ll explain – you do something you didn’t mean to do, you just turn it into something else.  No pressure. No mistakes. )

So, long story short, (is it too late for that?) here’s some of what I’ve been up to.  My friend, Gen, has contributed by coloring some of my art.  Zentangle is black and white, which I like.  Gen is a children’s author and a coloring aficionada, so she is putting the brilliance to some of these.

Work In Progress

Work In Progress

Black and White completed

Black and White completed

With Gen's Magic touch

With Gen’s Magic touch

Collaboration Coloring by Gen

Collaboration
Coloring by Gen. Drawing by me.

Drawing and coloring by me

Drawing and coloring by me

So this has been keeping me busy, and sane. It’s art. It’s meditation. It’s me being myself.

For some real eye-popping Art, click here and look at what Lisa creates. I promise, if you appreciate creativity, you won’t be sorry.

I appreciate you visit. Thanks for stopping by.  🙂

42 thoughts on “TIME OUT FOR ART – BE YOURSELF

  1. Your tangles get better and better with every new idea that pops into your head. It’s the best, most creative “coloring book” I’ve ever had. And I’ve had a LOT of coloring books! 🙂

  2. Oh Gemma these designs are such fun SO individual and original ! You clever thing . Your creativity is taking you to new places 😉

  3. it’s taken this long (since you published this) for me to reach the page.. wow, what an amazing combo – your strong black and white images and then gen’s powerful colors shoot them out for the universe to enjoy!

    they’re very happy images! great work, and thanks also for theh link!

    (without power but today promises changes! long long story!) (and now the comment won’t jump out of the box!)

  4. These are fabulous! I absolutely love your art. So cool! I am going to show them to my daughter- I got her a ZENtangle book for Christmas.

  5. Thank you for this informative post, it is the first that I have heard of Zentangle. It is very Peter Max-ish, especially the ones that are colored in later—like your Collaboration piece with Gen.

    I have a yen for Zen lately and will give this a try.

  6. Oh Gemma I could so get a kick out of coloring one of your pretty Zentangles! I love to color.. with crayons, in little kid’s coloring books. It relaxes me and you are so right, it is meditation. It is better than a valium, better than wine.. um no, won’t go that far 😀 CH gave me a stack of kid’s coloring books (with some coloring books for more mature peeps thrown in) for Christmas two years ago and when I feel the worry or anxiety beast trying to get to me I color. I was going to ask if the coloring was with watercolors or crayons or what?… duh, I now see the pencils! Lovely coloring by Gen and you. Loving the palm tree with the ocean in the background. Gen!!!! of Genevieve and Cupcake… small world. I am way to chatty (you bring out the chatty in this introvert) this morning and should STOP. Fun post! I am going to look for a Zentangle book to color!!!

  7. Good to hear from you, Gem, and to know that you’re hanging on to sanity in such a creative way. Your palm tree is superb, and I like the black and white version best. Lisa is fantastic. I don’t know where some people find all this creativity! I keep looking in cupboards and… zilch! But I can still send a warm hug 🙂

Feel free to express your (kind) thoughts.

