WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE – CULTURE

I have to admit, I was a little befuddled when I saw the WordPress Challenge for this week.  I am not a world traveler, nor have I studied any cultures to any great extent.  I was made in Italy, but born here, so that would make me a part of the American culture.  I was born in the 50’s and in time became a child of the 60’s – the hippie culture.  I won’t go into details about what I did or who I ‘hung out with’.  I’ll just say, I had the time of my life.  My husband says that time in my life – a time well before we met – has made me who I am today and that it is still a big part of my life now.  This was me back in the day – during The Age of Aquarius, yeah, yeah, yeah.  (I’ve pieced these together so photographically, they are less than adequate, but you’re lucky they’re not Polaroids!)

culture me

Fast forward to Halloween, 2008.  I’ve been through A LOT!  Times have changed, dramatically.  But still a part of the culture that shaped me still remains, in me, in my way of thinking, and in my heart.  Happily, for me, some of the clothing and, dare I say paraphernalia, has made a comeback as well.

That's me, on the left!

That’s me, on the left!

This is the dawning of the Age of Aquarius.  Some people may be quick to judge, and that’s ok. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. But I will always be happy I lived through that cultural experience, and  I will always fly my tie-dyed banner, wishing each and every one of you peace.

There’s more WordPress culture to be seen.  Just click on the groovy icon below, man.wordpress-logo-2013-a-by-jake